Student Travel Awards

Up to four student travel grants will be awarded to support students attending the annual AFS meeting. Each award will consist of $500 of travel support, and a one year student membership to both the American Fisheries Society and the Marine Fisheries Section. Recipients must be currently enrolled students (undergraduate, M.S., or Ph.D.) and be presenting a paper or poster on a marine fisheries related topic at the Annual Meeting of the American Fisheries Society. Student applicants do not need to be members of the American Fisheries Society at the time of application.


Applications for the Annual Meeting are due on May 15 of each year, and successful applicants will be notified by June 20 of each year.

Complete applications should include:

  1. A letter of interest that includes:
    • reasons for wanting to attend the meeting
    • statement of need for travel support
  2. A current resume or curriculum vita (2-page maximum) including a listing of publications, honors, awards and previous presentations.

  4. The title and abstract of the accepted paper(s) or poster(s).

  6. Proof of student status (e.g. photocopy of a current transcript or a letter from a major professor).

Applications should be submitted in electronic form with the subject line “MFS Travel Award” in the email. Please submit as a single pdf file. Applications will be reviewed by a committee of Marine Fisheries Section members. Supporting materials (proof of student status) may be mailed. The primary selection criteria are quality and relevance of work as judged by the committee, the breadth of participation at the meeting and demonstrated need.

Applications and question should be directed to:
Dr. Adrian Jordaan
Email: [email protected]
Office Phone: 413-545-2758
Mailing Address:
309 Holdsworth Hall
Department of Environmental Conservation
160 Holdsworth Way
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003-9285

Previous recipients of student travel awards:

Year Recipients University
2017 Sarah Borsetti Rutgers University
Megumi Oshima University of Southern Mississippi
Brendan Runde North Carolina State University
2016 Grant Adams University of Southern Mississippi
Lisa Hollensead University of North Carolina Wilmington
Mackenzie Mazur University of Maine
2015 Lisa Ailloud Virginia Institute of Marine Science
Aharon Fleury University of Victoria – B.C.
Jennifer Marsh University of Alaska – Fairbanks
2014 Laura Koehn University of Washington
Owen Nichols University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth
James Robinson University of Victoria
2013 Chris Holland Texas A&M
Pablo Granados-Dieseldorff Texas A&M
2012 Chelsey Campbell University of Florida
Iris Kemp University of Washington
Konstantine Rountos SUNY-Stony Brook
2011 Tim Ellis North Carolina State University
Megan Nims University of Texas Austin
2009 Karen Capossela Virginia Institute of Marine Science
James Thorson Virginia Tech University
2008 Joseph Facendola University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Ivan Mateo University of Rhode Island
Nuno Prista Old Dominion University
Lynn Waterhouse Virginia Institute of Marine Science
2007 Nathan Bacheler North Carolina State University
Bernice Bediako University of Maryland, Eastern Shore
William Smith University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Justine Woodward Virginia Institute of Marine Science
2006 Morgan Bond University of California, Santa Cruz
Benjamin Cotti University of Delaware
Megan Fencil University of Texas, Austin
Belita Nguluwe University of Maryland, Eastern Shore
2005 Mikaela Bergenius James Cook University, Australia
Adrian Jordaan University of Maine
Michael Lowe Auburn University
Kathy Mills Cornell University
2004 Tom Ihde Virginia Institute of Marine Science
Michelle Staudinger State University of New York, Stony Brook
John Walter Virginia Institute of Marine Science
2003 Karen Burns Mote Marine Laboratory, Florida
Michelle Davis Virginia Tech University
Daniel Uchida University of Oregon
Karen Scheding University of Alaska, Fairbanks
2002 Patrick Campfield UMCES – Chesapeake Biological Laboratory
Toby Auth UMCES – Chesapeake Biological Laboratory
2001 David Anderson
Taconya Piper
Chris Taylor
Wendy Vandersteen

Student Travel Award Committee
Year Committee Chair Committee Members
2015- Adrian Jordaan, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA
2013-2014 Syma Ebbins, University of Connecticut, Groton, CT
2003-2013 Russell Brown, NOAA/NMFS, Northeast Fisheries Science Center, Woods Hole, MA