2014 Marine Fisheries Section (MFS) Business Meeting Notes August 17, 2014

Note takers: Douglas Vaughan/Ben Walther (for Deb Lambert, Secretary/Treasurer)

President Douglas Vaughan convened the business meeting at 4:15 pm on Sunday, August 17th. A sign-in sheet was passed around (attached). Attendees were invited to give their names and affiliations. Several past presidents of the section were in attendance, including Ken Beal, Roger Rulifson, Churchill Grimes, and John Boreman. Also in attendance were incoming officers Ben Walther (President) and Cynthia Jones (President elect). Copies of the agenda with attachments were distributed (references below to attachments are to this report which was distributed to section membership prior to the meeting).

Next were award presentations. First the winner and runner ups for the Steven Berkeley Award were announced, with formal presentations to be made during the AFS business meeting on Wednesday. Runner up Marissa McMahan arrived before the meeting ended.

Dr. Syma Ebbin was recognized for her efforts as chair of the Student Travel Awards for 2012-2014. She then presented certificates and copies of Beverton Notes to the student winners. Laura Kohn was present at this time, and to Owen Nichols who arrived later before the meeting ended.

The Oscar Elton Sette Excellence Award was presented to Mary Fabrizio. Sarah Glaser received this award on her behalf.

Minutes from the 2013 Little Rock meeting were accepted as is (attachment 1).

The 2014 budget was presented and accepted (attachment 2). A proposed 2015 budget was also presented (attachment 2).

President Vaughan's report to the AFS Governing Board (attachment 3) was discussed. Particularly emphasized were the five (5) symposium that were sponsored by the section.

New Business:

The new officers for the Marine Fisheries Section were announced. These include: incoming President Ben Walther, President elect Cynthia Jones. Secretary/Treasurer Deb Lambert, Southeast Representative Susan Lowerre-Barbieri, Northeast Representative Gail Wippelhauser, and Western Representative Selina Heppel.

At this point President Walther made the following comments: "I am excited and honored to begin my tenure as President of the Section. I am grateful for Doug's help in getting up to speed quickly, and look forward to working with him and the EXCOM to continue the great work that's been done. One of my priorities is to get the Section involved in Continuing Education workshops at the Annual Meetings, as well as lay the groundwork for CE workshops to be delivered online to reach a wider audience. I believe these workshops will help raise the Section's visibility, generate revenue, and expand our membership. I also look forward to continuing the many fine activities of the Section, including updating our website and administering the student and professional awards."

Meeting adjourned 5:00 pm.

Name	Marine	Estuarine	Affiliation
Abigail Archer	х	x	Cape Cod Coop Extension
Douglas Vaughan	х	х	Retired NMFS
Nancy Vaughan			Spouse
Cynthia Jones	x		Old Dominion Univ.
Wilson Laney	x	х	U. S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Roger Rulifson	х	х	East Carolina University
Margaret Siple	x		University of Washington
Des Kahn	x	x	None
Churchill Grimes	х	х	Retired NMFS
Dennis Ramage	х	х	Pacific Salmon Foundation
Karin Limburg		x	SUNY - ESF
Ben Walther	x	х	U Texas Austin
Jim Vasslides		x	Barnegat Bay Partnership
Rick Methot	x		NOAA Fisheries
John Boreman	X	x	NC State
Carolyn Griswold	x	x	NOAA/NMFS Retired
Kenneth L. Beal	x	х	Past President, MFS
Ward Slacum	X	x	Oyster Recovery Partnership
Lee Benaka	x	x	NOAA Fisheries
Christine Lipsky	X		NOAA Fisheries
Rachel Lasley-Rasher			U Maine
Sarah Glaser			Univ. Denver
Syma Ebbin	x	x	U Conn.
Lynn Waterhouse	x	х	UCSD, SIO
Alice Harada			UCSD, SIO
Marissa McMahan	x		Northeastern Univ.
Laura Koehn	x	x	University of Washington
Owen Nichols	x		UMass SMAST

Marine Fisheries Section/Estuarine Section Sign In: