Report to the Governing Board

| TO: | Robert Hughes, President |
|-------|--|
| FROM: | Douglas Vaughan, President, Marine Fisheries Section |
| DATE: | 7 July 2014 |

Motion Report

Recommended Motion: NONE

Activity Report

| Goal 1 | Global Fisheries Leadership |
|--------|-----------------------------|
| Goal 1 | Global Fisheries Leadership |

GFL 1.1.1 Networking and Conferences.

GFL 1.1.1 The MFS will sponsor five symposia at the 2014 Annual AFS Meeting in Quebec City, Quebec, Canada.

- Common Challenges and Opportunities for Global Fisheries: An International Perspective. Organized by Douglas Vaughan (AFS/MFS), Shuichi Satoh (JSFS), and Sungchul (KSFAS). Monday afternoon, Tuesday morning (Rm 2103).
- The Next Generation of Fish Stock Assessments. Organized by Patrick Lynch & Tara Dolan. Tuesday afternoon through Thursday (301A)
- Reproductive Behavior and Recruitment Processes: Emerging understanding and future needs. Organized by Susan Lowerre-Barbieri, M. Karnauskas, M. Dickey-Collas, P. Pepin, C. B. Paris, & Y. Sadovy de Mitcheson. Thursday (205B).
- Out of Sight, Not Out of Mind: Estimating and reducing release mortality In commercial and recreational fisheries. Organized by Noelle Yochum, David Rudders, Derek Orner, and Lee Benaka. Monday afternoon, Tuesday morning (301A).
- Jawless Fishes of the World. Organized by Alexei Orlov and Gordon McFarlane. Tuesday (306A).

Goal 3 Value of Membership

VOM 3.1.2: The MFS website continues to be organized and updated by Debra Murie at the University of Florida. The URL is <u>http://fishweb.ifas.ufl.edu/mfs/</u>.

VOM 3.1.2 The MFS listserv (now eMailDodo) is under the management of President Douglas Vaughan and President-elect Benjamin Walther. The address is: MFS@afsmembers.org

VOM 3.1.8 Marine Fisheries Section Leadership Awards, chaired by Dr. Emory Anderson. The 2014 Oscar Elton Sette Award for an Outstanding Marine Fishery Biologist is Dr. Mary C. Fabrizio, of the College of William and Mary (Virginia Institute of Marine Science).

VOM 3.1.8 Marine Fisheries Section Leadership Awards. The 2014 Steve Berkeley Conservation Award was given to one award winner and two runners-up:

Cassandra Benkwitt of Oregon State University was selected as the 2014 winner of the \$10,000 Berkeley Fellowship. The runners-up were Nathan Furey of University of British Columbia and Marissa McMahan of Northeastern University and each received \$1,000.

VOM 3.2.1 Dr. Syma Ebbin chaired the MFS Student Travel Awards Committee. Three students were selected in 2014: Laura Koehn (University of Washington), Owen Nichols (University of Massachusetts at Dartmouth), and James Robinson (University of Victoria). Each student will receive \$500 to support their attendance at the annual meeting, one-year memberships in AFS and MFS, and a certificate.

VOM 3.2.2 The original MFS listserv was updated several times following the AFS annual meeting Little Rock, AR. Following a catastrophic hardware failure during Dec:mber 2013, an alternate means of communication was developed by AFS staff through eMailDodo which has worked quite well. We continue to post on the MFS website.