## 2009 Marine Fisheries Section (MFS) Business Meeting Nashville 1 September 2009

President Roger Rulifson called the meeting to order at 5:35pm and presented MFS Student Travel Awards to Karen Capossela (Virginia Institute of Marine Science) and James Thorson (Virginia Tech University).

President Rulifson called out notable guests including Ken Beal, John Boreman, Mary Fabrizio, and Tom Bigford.

Doug Vaughn remarked on the availability of Beverton Notes for sale.

Lee Benaka provided a Secretary/Treasurer's report on behalf of Deb Lambert (see attached).

President Rulifson mentioned the two symposia being sponsored by the MFS in Nashville, including Bycatch Reduction Developments and Energy Production and Fisheries in the Coastal Zone.

President Rulifson reported news from the AFS Governing Board meeting, including that AFS is "in the red" lately. Some possible solutions discussed by the Governing Board included making all journals electronic. However, it was also thought that some of AFS's financial problems were related to the overall economic recession. AFS has approximately \$3M in surplus and is tapping into that resource.

President Rulifson mentioned the MFS donations for the year, which are covered by the Secretary/Treasurer's report.

President-Elect Ken Beal reported on the MFS Strategic Plan. President-Elect Beal's research revealed that only one section, the Estuaries Section, has a strategic plan. President-Elect Beal encouraged MFS members to review the AFS Strategic Plan.

Tom Bigford presented the prestigious Nancy Foster Award to Charles (Si) Simenstad, Coordinator, Wetland Ecosystem Tea, School of Aquatic and Fishery Sciences, University of Washington.

Des Kahn presented the Oscar Sette Award to Bernard Megrey, Alaska Fisheries Science Center, National Marine Fisheries Service.

President Rulifson announced the Steve Berkeley award winner and two runners-up:

- Aleksandra Maljkovic, Department of Biological Sciences, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, BC (\$10,000)
- Annie Schmidt, Department of Wildlife, Fish and Conservation Biology, University of California Davis (\$1,000)
- Jack Kittinger, Department of Geography, University of Hawai'i at Ma-noa, Honolulu (\$1,000)

President Rulifson opened the floor to officer nominations. Des Kahn nominated Deb Lambert as Secretary/Treasurer, and Fred Goetz seconded the nomination. There were no nominations for President-Elect. Call for additional nominations, and the elections, will take place via the Marine Fisheries Section Listsery.

President Rulifson requested ideas for symposia for the 2010 AFS Annual Meeting in Pittsburgh. MFS members were encouraged to post ideas to the MFS Listserv via President Rulifson. Tom Bigford suggested a symposium with the new Fish Habitat Section, perhaps related to marine spatial planning or coastal eutrophication.

It was suggested that President Rulifson send out an email to the MFS Listserv listing all the award winners announced at this business meeting.

As the MFS's treasury balance was relatively low as of September 2009, ideas were solicited for fund-raising. Des Kahn suggested that the MFS could sponsor a book and profit from its eventual sales. Other suggestions included asking for direct donations from MFS members and working with other societies (including CERF, Coastal Society, Acoustical Society of America) on collaborative projects. Lee Benaka moved to raise Section dues to \$10 for non-students, and Steve Jordan seconded the motion. After discussion, Lee Benaka withdrew the motion. Des Kahn moved that the MFS should form a budget and undertake a membership dialogue on dues increases. This motion passed.

Steve Jordan provided an update on the Marine and Coastal Fisheries Journal and reminded the MFS of the contributions of the MFS and Estuaries Section to the creation of that journal.

Current MFS Officers:
Roger A. Rulifson – President
Ken Beal – President elect
Debra J. Murie - Past-President
Debra Lambert – Secretary/Treasurer
At-large members: Martha Mather, Fred Scharf, and Des Kahn

The MFS business meeting was adjourned.

## AFS Marine Fisheries Section Treasurer's Report January 1, 2008 - August 25, 2009

Balance on January 1, 2008 = \$5,198.75

| Deposits/Credits |        |   |          |         |  |  |
|------------------|--------|---|----------|---------|--|--|
|                  | date   | description   | amount   | cleared |  |  |
|                  | Feb-08 | AFS membership dues                                       | 856.00   | Х       |  |  |
|                  | Apr-08 | AFS membership dues                                       | 1,023.00 | Х       |  |  |
|                  | Jun-08 | Beverton Notes sales                                      | 10.00    | Х       |  |  |
|                  | Oct-08 | Doug Vaughan (5 Beverton Books and 6 Beverton Notes book) | 130.00   | Х       |  |  |
|                  | Dec-08 | AFS (dues collected from Jan 1 - Aug 31, 2008)            | 739.00   | Х       |  |  |
|                  | May-09 | AFS (dues collected from Sept 1, 2008 - December 31, 2008 | 939.00   | Х       |  |  |

sum = 3697.00

| Withdrawals |           |  |        |         |  |  |  |
|-------------|-----------|--|--------|---------|--|--|--|
| Check       |           |  |        |         |  |  |  |
| #           | date      | description  | amount | cleared |  |  |  |
| 185         | Jan-08    | Justine Woodward membership dues ('07 Travel Award winner)   | 21.00  | Х       |  |  |  |
| 186         | Jan-08    | William Smith membership dues ('07 Travel Award winner)  | 21.00  | Х       |  |  |  |
| 187         | Mar-08    | Travel reimbursement for Section President to attend Gov. Board  | 455.00 | Х       |  |  |  |
| 188         | Apr-08    | Oscar Sette Award plaque and certificate   | 25.00  | Х       |  |  |  |
| 189         | May-08    | AFS Education Section (Skinner Fund)   | 250.00 | Х       |  |  |  |
| 190         | Jul-08    | Lynn Waterhouse ('08 Travel Award winner)  | 500.00 | Х       |  |  |  |
| 191         | Jul-08    | Ivan Mateo ('08 Travel Award winner)   | 500.00 | Х       |  |  |  |
| 192         | Jul-08    | Nuno Prista ('08 Travel Award winner)  | 500.00 | Х       |  |  |  |
| 193         | Jul-08    | Joseph Facendola ('08 Travel Award winner)   | 500.00 | Х       |  |  |  |
| 194         | Aug-08    | Estuaries Section (AFS 2008 business meeting)  | 479.70 | Х       |  |  |  |
| 195         | Aug-08    | David Anderson (2008 AFS workshop)   | 250.00 | Х       |  |  |  |
| 196         | Oct-08    | AFS (5 certificates, plaques, shipping)  | 125.00 | Х       |  |  |  |
|             |           | donation to Florida State U./Felicia Coleman (Mote Marine  |        |         |  |  |  |
| 197         | Oct-08    | Symposium)   | 250.00 | Х       |  |  |  |
| 198         | Nov-08    | AFS (Sette Award)  | 25.00  | Х       |  |  |  |
| 199         | Dec-08    | donation to International Halibut Commission for the International Otolith Symposium 2009                    | 500.00 | х       |  |  |  |
| 200         | Apr-09    | dontation to LSU Foundation to support the book - Biology and Management of Snappers of the Western Atlantic | 500.00 | х       |  |  |  |
| 201         | Apr-09    | donation to AFS - Robert F. Hutton Endowment Funt  | 100.00 | Х       |  |  |  |
| 202         | May-09    | membership fees for Nuna Prista  | 28.00  | Х       |  |  |  |
|             | 5/29/2009 | monthly bank maintenance fee   | 17.00  | Х       |  |  |  |
| 204         | 6/29/2009 | Karen Capossela ('09 Travel Award winner)  | 500.00 | Х       |  |  |  |
| 205         | 6/29/2009 | James Thorson ('09 Travel Award winner)  | 500.00 |         |  |  |  |
| 206         | 8/25/2009 | AFS (2 certificates, plaques, shipping)  | 50.00  |         |  |  |  |

sum = 6096.70

Balance on 8/25/09 = \$2,799.05